What ARE Executive Functions?

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

 by Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Part 2 in a Series (click HERE for Part 1))

What the heck ARE Executive Functions ANYWAY?

Well, that all depends on who you ask!

While there is certainly a consensus that executive systems are involved in handling situations outside the domains of most of the processes of the body (whether ‘automatic’ or something under our conscious control) – and while there is very little disagreement that executive processes are not controlled by the same processes that produce our emotional reactions –

the exact nature of executive control
is difficult to pin down and articulate.

Until science discovers more about the neuro-chemical, bio-electric  processes underlying brain function, all anybody can really do is attempt to describe them based on how and where they work – or don’t!

Try to describe the elements that combine to allow an orchestra to…

View original post 1,877 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

24 thoughts on “What ARE Executive Functions?”

  1. Thank you for the reblog – I’m doubly honored since you reblogged it to 2 different blogs.

    Although we have different star charts — double Sag, moon & Venus in Scorpio (regulating feelings) and activating/warrior Mars in Capricorn (a practical sign or I’d be lost – lol) — we have a lot else in common, reading your short bio above.

    I’ll definitely be back.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought the article to be both powerful and important. You are right; our charts DO have certain similarities! Look forward to reading / reblogging more of your work!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Since I am in the U.S. I am not required to have the banner, but the EU does require it and I am anticipating the possibility of something like that here. That said, you should be able to click on the button on the right and make it go away. Let me know if that does not work.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, I already solved the problem. Click means “accept” – and then I have to clear cache & cookies and start all over inputting info on sites I want to have it.

        As I’ve ranted about in a number of articles in my Monday-Grumpy-Monday series, I despise all tactics set up to make it easier for smarmy internet marketers to sell to us.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah, we could chat at length about these topics. Like it or not, to have a good blog you have to dig into the bowels of WP periodically. More and more I have a variety of “belt and suspenders” tricks, including bookmarks on my favorite blogs. (That is an imperfect solution since I blog from multiple machines. But it is better than nothing.)

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Agreed. Periodically, I have to take a day or two off, and in the astrology re-blog world that means your traffic plummets. Nobody wants to read “forecasts” for day before yesterday. But it can be a HUGE amount of work, and (like you) I basically like it. The weirdness, lately, has worn on me and makes me want to “head for the Himalayas” as you call it!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. We do what we can. Fortunately, my blog content is what they call Evergreen, and although the older content receives far fewer visits, I do need to edit to keep it current.

        Can’t do that with astrology, unfortunately – unless you offer basic explanatory posts like some of the “grand masters” who write the books that everybody reads.

        btw: I used an astrology metaphor on one of my posts “ODD & Oppositional Rising” (use the search box at the top of the site to find and read).
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      6. When I reblog from a larger, older blog, like yours, I tend to look for the oldest content and reblog it first. That way I do not “collide” with your newer content. Gives me good material, increases your traffic, and generally benefits everyone. You are completely on target in your analysis of astrology, including the idea that the most powerful part of it may be as a system of symbology to understand the world around us. I think that is how C G Jung saw astrology, tarot, etc. That is, the astrology symbols become “chess pieces” that operate in a larger drama, a repeating cycling drama and repeats many times across people, days, weeks, months, seasons, years, and lifetimes.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. At a time when I was t-totally covered up in a very linear consulting job each year, I made it a point to enroll in a class on something completely unrelated at the other end of the spectrum, so that I would have a memory of those years besides non-stop mind-numbing work.

        For two of those years I studied astrology with a metaphysical mentor of mine. Part of the course involved looking at the charts of everyone in the smallish class. Since I knew many of the participants well and already knew their histories, I was AMAZED at how accurate the info turned out to be – especially where transits impacted certain houses.

        Had I more time to actually STUDY, I would be much more informed today, but (with notes) I can still interpret a chart fairly well.

        Casting? Fagedaboudit! (but that’s why God invented computers, right?)
        xx
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Everybody still uses Pluto except the hard-core traditionalists who have never used anything beyond Saturn. I like the big four asteroids + Chiron and add in Hygeia (healthcare) and Astraea (law). Do not use the rest of the asteroids though I sometimes read about them. I do not use asteroids or fixed stars when major planets answer the question (or mood of the day). If the majors do not speak, then I start looking at asteroids, fixed stars, higher order aspects (5 / 7 / 9) and so forth. I strictly use transits and patterns built from transits and do not use progressions.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Like your blog(s), mine are designed to be books / schools. Lost Dudeist Astrology is especially aimed at metaphysics and various ancillary “non-linear” topics. Astrology, tarot, various metaphysics topics, fertility goddesses (i.e. “pinup girls”) and so forth. It is intended to be a curious mix for the purpose of sparking the imagination using a metaphysical / astrology basis.

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Objectifying consciousness is how I look at all of the “woo woo” stuff – as it is dismissively referred to by many of the more linear thinkers among us.

        LOVE my runes – and have a couple of gorgeous tarot decks I don’t really know how to use well.

        My metaphysics library goes back to Troward (early 1900s) – and, of course, the ancient Greeks.

        I’m with Shakespeare’s Hamlet … “There are more things in heaven and Earth, Horatio, / Than are dreamt of in your philosophy”
        xx.
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

      11. 100% agreed; same reasons. “We” have not even scratched the surface of what is “out there” / “in there.” If for no other reason, oracles (runes, tarot, astrology) are a remarkably powerful way of tapping part of ourselves that is not otherwise available.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. We shall have to, I’m sorry to say. I took my puppy to our Cheers bar down the street to see his fans (and to celebrate my birthday) — and I’m afraid I got seriously overserved.

        So now I must now stumble on to bed while I can still manage to change into my jammies and kick off my boots.

        G’nite.
        xx,
        mgh

        Like

      13. Yeah, I’ve been trying to get that OFF my site for eons now – it is primarily for admin & NOT useful to readers.

        Skip to the bottom and you will see (in the middle column) 2 drop-down boxes. The most useful is listed by month.

        Check out the Master LinkList at the top of the dropdown at the head of each page to find LinkLists to most posts by category.
        xx,
        mgh

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

