The Importance of the Human Library

Kristen Twardowski

humanlibrarylogo1

The term “human library” inspires visions of books bound in skin and other terrible creations. The reality of the human library is a bit different.

In 2000, a group of people in Copenhagen developed The Human Library (Menneskebiblioteket in Danish) for the Roskilde Festival. The library featured over 50 titles that had more than 1000 readers during the festival. But that still doesn’t explain what made this library “Human”.

In The Human Library, books are not bound sheets of paper; they are people who tell their stories to the readers. The project describes it as “real people are on loan to readers.” The theory is that the library enables interactions between people who would otherwise never speak to one another. Books involve different health issues, religious stances, economic positions, and other life experiences. Through discussions with human books, people have the opportunity to overcome their prejudices or at the very least…

View original post 131 more words

Author: Grandtrines

Like so many people, I am a paradox. I am a politically conservative vegetarian. I am from a Christian background, and still tend to like those values, but am a metaphysical astrologer trained in science who has an interest in the magic of ancient Egypt and a weird belief that some piece of our essence can live on a server. I live in Texas, but like chatting with my international Wordpress pals the best. I learn by teaching. Technically, I am a "Leo," but I am very, very Aquarian with a dose of Scorpio. I bitterly complain about Algol (and Algol personaliites), yet it is the one star that defines me most (other than Regulus). (Which, oddly, makes me an Algol personality.) I am a reclusive lover of peace and quiet who has the Ascendant in the Via Combusta (the most conflict ridden part of the zodiac). I am an incredibly private person with a blog with over 800 followers and 50 to 150 regular daily visitors. I could go on, but I think you get the picture.

Leave a Reply

